So, I’ve done it. I completed my first half marathon. I had a great time. I finished and got my finishers medal, I got to run through the castle, I got to see backstage, I got to run through Epcot, and I got to meet a great bunch of people. It was so much fun!

I also could hardly walk for a week after it.

It was all worth it. I’ve also convinced my best friend to take part in the Princess half with me next year. I’m hoping she had started on the Couch to 5K plan by now, but I’ll give her a few weeks to get started.

I’ve also restarted Couch to 5K myself. I want to be able to comfortably run at least 3 miles before I focus on training for my next distance race. I have given myself about 8 weeks from when I restarted the program to when I have to run the 5K. My friend Mary and I will be running in the Race for the Cure in Philadelphia on Mother’s Day this year.

This is one of the biggest fundraisers for breast cancer research for the Susan G. Komen Foundation. You can donate here to help me raise funds.

I’m looking into getting a pink running skirt for the race. I tried one from runningskirts.com and I really didn’t like it. The compression shorts did not really compress anything and they kept riding up and I ran. It had nice big pockets that would fit my phone, but the waist seemed to loose to stay up if I actually put anything into the pockets. It’s going back as soon as I clean it and I will probably order one from new balance or one of the other skirt websites.

Next time I’ll let everyone know what my big plans are for the future of my distance running.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

