Here’s the update that I put on my Team in Training fundraising site:

“I went to the TnT kick off party on Thursday, August 6. It was a great time. I got to meet my TnT coordinator, my mentor and one of our survivors and Heros.

The survior got up and told us about his history. He was diagnosed in 2000 and was given 3-5 years to live. He went through chemotherapy for 6 months and they decided that it was not working for him. He took the next year to get his affairs in order. When he learned about a drug that was being tested that could help him, he tried to get into the tests but they were closed. He then had to wait for the drug to be approved and come onto the market.

Once the drug was approved he started taking it and was quickly on the road to recovery. He then wanted to thank everyone involved with the drug and that brough him to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. It is now almost 10 years since he was diagnosed and he is able to see his children grow and spend time with his family.

It is for people like this that I am doing this event for. It could have been easy for me to sign up for the race, train on my own and take the trip by myself, but I wanted to take this opportunity in my life to give back. I need everyone’s support with this though. My fundraising goal is not something that is going to be easy to meet without the support of my friends and family. “

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

