Managed to avoid the rain. Yippee!

I got just under 12 miles in on Saturday. It was really chilly out. I bundled up pretty good. I had on a long sleeve shirt, long sleeve fleece and a fleece vest. And I had on capris underneath warmup pants. Oh yeah, I had a fleece headband and gloves on too, but after about a mile I took the gloves off.

It was a fun, but tough run. The park we were at (Tyler State Park) is fairly hilly and we did 4 loops on the route that we take. That means doing the big hill 2 times. We did the loop in reverse twice. In the other direction the hill isn’t that bad because it is a slower incline.

I found that I was able to fit more running into each 10-minute period. Instead of running for 1.5-2 minutes and walking out the rest of the 10 minutes, I was able to run 3-4 minutes (except on the steep hill) and then walk the rest of the 10 minutes. I plan on training more and more at that pace so that I can hopefully finish with a PR AND get some pictures along the way.

I also bought myself a new camera on Black Friday, so I plan on learning how to use that in the next few weeks for some good shots during the race!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Managed to avoid the rain. Yippee!

  1. Amanda says:

    Congrats on the run. Sounds like you just keep doing better and better. Keep up the great work!

    Like

  2. Megan says:

    Thanks Amanda! I still hope to do the Princess half in March too, but I think if that doesn't work out I will try to do the Champion 5k at the end of February. It will all depend on whether my family will travel for the half.

    Like

Leave a Reply

