Broad Street Run May 2, 2010

Some of the Team before the race!

My teammate from Disney, Lanie!

Wow! That race was just brutal! I had a good time for my first 5K but shortly after that I felt like I wanted to die! I was having serious doubts that I would be able to finish at all. I walked a good portion of mile 4 and then jogged REALLY slowly for most of the rest of the race.  I told Rachel to go on without me and that I would try to catch up.  I didn’t see her again until the end of the race.

Since I was so far back, lots of the volunteers weren’t concerned about saving water for the runners behind me and when I asked they would throw a cup or two on me. I didn’t go through the first few hydrants, but when I felt like I was going to over heat I just went through them and hoped that my feet wouldn’t get too wet and blister. I’m glad I put sunsceen on before I left the house too. I had 15 on my legs, 30 on my arms and 50 on my face and neck. Viturally no color with that type of coverage!

I did see my friend Jen briefly at the start and again at the finish too.  I had a TNT coach with me for about the last block up until the signs before the finish line. I was able to pick up my legs just enough so that I looked like I ran through the finish line too!

This entry was posted in Broad Street Run. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Broad Street Run May 2, 2010

  1. Amanda says:

    Sounds like a tough race, but you got through it. Great job finishing it and continuing to support a great cause!

    Like

  2. mrc says:

    Congratulations! It's a an amazing accomplishment!

    Like

  3. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    Like

Leave a Reply

