Wine and Dine Half Marathon

So I was just listening to the most recent Running to Disney podcast and the caller was commenting on the fact that he wouldn’t be able to run in the Wine and Dine half marathon at Disney World for at least a few years because he has a 5 year old.  I can totally get that a race starting at 10pm would not work very well for you if you wanted your kids to be able to see you run the race.  I’m not really sure that I got what he was trying to say.  I almost think that he was complaining about that the fact that the half was at night.

Okay, so before I continued, I actually went back and listened to the caller.  I get his stance.  He is “irate” that the race is being held at night.  Really?  Irate?  So because you have a small child you are irate that one race out of the 5 races that Disney hosts is at night.  Well, I personally don’t like having to get up at 2:30 or 3 in the morning to run in the other Disney races, but I do it and don’t *usually* complain about it.  I get up at that time because I love being able to run through my favorite place in the world!

Obviously, I don’t agree with this caller.  I don’t think that he has really considered his options.  You want to run the relay with your wife?  Why not take an adults-only trip?  It is the Epcot Food and Wine Festival.  Drop kiddo off with the grandparents or his cool aunt and get away for the weekend with your wife.  You might miss your kid, but enjoy the time as a couple. 

Why not bring a grandparent with you so you have someone who can watch the kid while you two do the relay together?  What about hiring a sitter for the night? What about one of you not doing the race and staying in the room with the kid?  That would save you money on the sitter and on race registration. 

I guess I just don’t get it.  I know Disney is a family destination, but there are plenty of adults who travel there without children.  I’m sure if I had kids, my mother would be thrilled to watch them for the weekend if I wanted to run this race.

What are your thoughts?  Is it right that Disney is having this race at night?  Does this caller being “irate” even make sense to you? 

As far as I’m concerned, I’ll see you at the Tree of Life!

This entry was posted in Dinsey, kids, Running, Wine and Dine. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wine and Dine Half Marathon

  1. Amanda says:

    Hey, I heard that caller too…I think he brought up a lot of things during his call and I sort of tuned out a little as it was just his opinion. If he doesn't like it he doesn't have to do it – one less runner for me to contend with at the race.

    I actually like that it's going to be a night race – something different and it will be cool running through parks at night with things all lit up.

    As to the child “excuse” why is night any different than early morning. I mean honestly is your kid really up at 2:30am and ready to hit the dark morning? Seems odd to me and maybe any race would be a challenge for this caller.

    Everyone is entitled to their opinions, but I know for myself I pick and choose the races that I want to do based on a lot of criteria – it's just part of the racing world…There's always something I wish was different, but you take the good with the bad :)!

    Like

  2. Tim says:

    I didn't listen to this, but he sounds like a fool. As Amanda points out, the child excuse is an issue regardless of what time the race is.

    That said, in addition to the logical solutions about an adults only trip, or grandparents, I might also suggest “Kids Night Out”. Can personally give them a thumbs up.

    I think it's great that they're offering something different in terms of start time. That said, I plan to do both the 5K and half, and so will still be up at the crack of dawn anyway. Maybe I should complain that this isn't convenient for people who want to do both.

    Like

  3. Amanda says:

    Good point Tim – I'll be doing both as well – early morning and late night should be interesting!

    Megan – You asked about the Rock & Roll AZ. It's in January and normally it's one week after the WDW Marathon Weekend. One of the reasons I've still not participated :)!

    Like

  4. Megan says:

    Thanks guys! I normally don't care what people say when they call in, but I heard this and thought, “What a moron!”

    Amanda, looks like for the time being I will not be doing RnR Arizona. I'll consider it for some time in the future though!

    Like

  5. Kathryn says:

    I couldn't agree more! Not to mention that Disney offers babysitters in your room (a friend used one once), as well as the Kids' Night Out mentioned above. If you can spend $200+ on multiple race entries, I think you could spring for the babysitter.

    I wish I could do this race but am overbooked for this year, with the Aug 1 RnR in Chicago and a Nov 14th OBX half.

    Btw, I followed you over from Run Courtney Run. Hope it's okay that I am following your blog! I am a pretty new runner (started in Jan) and have caught the bug…

    Like

  6. Tim says:

    Sorry to be pedantic, but just wanted to point out Disney doesn't actually offer the in-room babysitting. They contract with third parties, and Kids' Nite Out is their recommended provided. It's worth pointing out also that KNO babysitters actually complete Disney's “traditions” training as part of their coming on board.

    Like

  7. Kathryn says:

    Fair enough. Just pointing out that at Disney, in-room babysitting is available. Better?

    Like

  8. Tim says:

    Of course… Like I said, I knew I was being a bit pedantic. 🙂

    I just some people may have different feelings about using someone who is actually Disney vs. an outside provider. For what it's worth, I've personally used them to watch my four kids (one of whom has some special needs), and would do so again in an instant.

    Like

  9. Megan says:

    Disney does have the kids' clubhouses at some of the delux resorts. I can't remember the names of them, but I believe that they are in the Poly, Animal Kingdom Lodge, and maybe Wilderness Lodge and the Grand Floridian. They wouldn't be beneficial to someone running one of the Disney races because they don't have long hours, but they are available for other times. DISunplugged had some good reviews of them last year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

