Virtual 5K

I completed the 5K yesterday.  My timing was about what I expected and not that bad considering how hot it was at 8:30 in the morning.

On such a short distance in Valley Forge, you run mostly up hill for the first half.  Unless you are running less than 8 minute miles, you have to turn around for the 45 minute run that we were doing.  So we ran mostly up hill, past the arch that they have in the park and then turned around and ran mostly downhill.  I love running downhill.  I know it is bad for me.  I don’t try to sprint or run any faster down hills.  I try to maintain control.  I just pick my feet a little bit more and let gravity help me along.

Okay, I’ll wait for the lectures.

Anyways, I finished in 45 minutes.  Not bad.  I’ll get faster, but I miss having Rachel with me at practices. 😦

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Virtual 5K

  1. Tim says:

    I won't give you a hard time about downhill speed… I usually try to pick up time on the downhills too. As you already alluded to though, keeping control is essential, lest you risk injury.

    Great job on your 5k. Looking forward to seeing how the summer training goes!

    Like

  2. Amanda says:

    Great job. Glad you had a good run.

    Downhills can be tricky, but my theory is…I've suffered through the uphill and it hurts, so I let gravity do the work on the way down. Control is essential, but darn it feels good :)!

    Like

  3. Dandylioness says:

    *clapping* you did hills!! So proud of you. last year you were all “I'm not doing stinkin' hills that's why I run in Disney.. it's flat”

    Like

  4. Courtney says:

    Great job! Thanks for participating and supporting LLS!

    Like

  5. Good job on the run! I did not have hills on my virtual run – I guess that's the good and bad of it. Not everyone has the same course to work with. But you get to challenge yourself. Anyways – way to get out there and rock it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

