Water Stops and…

When I signed up to be a mentor, I knew that one of my responsibilities was to run a few of the water stops during the season.  And I’m not complaining about running the water stop.  It was nice and relaxing.  The only thing I miss was getting out there with the team and getting my run in.

I had to get up this morning and get my run in this morning.  It wasn’t fun.  As much water as I drank yesterday, I think that I was still underhydrated.  I froze two bottles of water to bring with me.  One that I would leave in my car and one that I would take with me on a belt.  I don’t usually wear a belt any more so that was a bit of a challenge.  In fact, the last time I wore this belt was during the Broad Street Run.  I’ve been carrying a hand-held Fuel Belt bottle.  Of course that is in the dishwasher.

Wearing the belt felt like it added 5-10 pounds to me.  It wasn’t what I needed.  I also slept in and didn’t start my run until 9:15.  All of that combined to make my time out in Valley Forge one of my worst runs yet.  Oh yeah, and the fact that it was Valley Forge.  Hills and all.  I do remember saying something about being excited about Valley Forge earlier this year.  This morning reminded me of why I’d rather be driving the Encampment Tour than running it.

I’ll survive it though.  I need to get all of my runs in this week.  My next half marathon is only 3 weeks away!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Water Stops and…

  1. Amanda says:

    Three weeks to your next half – that's getting close. I know what you mean as the Disneyland Half is next weekend! Hopefully, you won't end up sick like I did and you'll get all those runs in.

    Remember, every bad run is still a good run because you got out there and did it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

