2011 Princess Half Marathon Race Report – Part 1

Since I have something of a posting streak going, I’m going to post my Princess Half race report in segments.  Here’s part one…

I’m so excited to say that I have completed my third Princess Half Marathon!  It was a nice long vacation for me too.  I am so happy that I am perfectly princess and I hope that I can maintain this streak.  Now onto the race…

As usual, Alyssa and I had to get up ridiculously early.  Since we was staying off property I tried to give myself plenty of extra time to get to Epcot.  The only other times I had stayed off property for a race I was not the driver.  I guess I left early enough though because I had absolutely no problems getting into the parking lot and we were parked not very far from the entrance.  I had to run back to my car at least twice to grab things that I forgot, but it was close enough that I didn’t feel like I was wasting energy with each trip.

Once I entered the holding area, I gave my friend Mel a call to see where she was.  She was still about 20 minutes away so we wandered about a bit then found an area where I could sit down and stretch.  And people watch.  There are definitely a lot more costumes during this race than I saw in January.  I loved all the princess costumes, but seeing what some of the men were wearing made the early morning start much more entertaining.

Once Mel get there, we said our goodbyes to Alyssa and made our way to the corrals.  We were in Corral E.  Not as good as our Corral C placement last year, but there were about 4000 more runners this time so we couldn’t really complain.  Mel’s sister-in-law joined us in our corral too.  She had been given a higher corral than us, but she wanted to start the race with us and then go ahead if she felt like running faster.  We knew she wouldn’t be hanging out with us for too long.

When they asked everyone to stand for the national anthem, I saw Courtney just ahead of us.  As soon as the national anthem was finished, we snuck our way up to her and she got a picture of the two of us.  We were able to hang out for a few minutes, but eventually go separated as our corral started moving towards the start line.

Before we knew it, the fireworks were going off and it was time to start!

This entry was posted in Disney, Princess, race report. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2011 Princess Half Marathon Race Report – Part 1

  1. Amanda says:

    So cool. I can't wait to do this race again next year. I really missed it this year!

    Like

  2. Mary-Michael says:

    Can't wait to read the rest of the race report. I ran it last year and it was my favorite race ever!

    Like

  3. FruitFly says:

    Ha! That Peter Pan outfit is great!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

