2011 Princess Half Marathon Race Report – Part 3

We needed  to weave our way around people to get down the ramp from the Castle, but then we were in the clear and made our way into Liberty Square and Frontierland.  Once we left the Magic Kingdom and headed out to Floridian Way we were set for the long stretch back to Epcot.

It can get pretty boring out behind the Magic Kingdom.  That might be why Reedy Creek put some of the hotter EMTs out there.  Of course, Mel knew a lot of them, including the hot single one!  Too bad we didn’t have time to stop so I could meet him. 

Somewhere around mile 8 both of us got serious.  Since I hadn’t done much any running since the marathon, I was feeling the 8 miles already.  Mel had managed to get in some training since the half in Janua ry, but she hadn’t gone farther than 8 miles, so she was starting to feel it too.  I grabbed a mocha Clif Shot and started to eat some of it.  Last summer I came to the conclusion that I didn’t like Clif Shots or other gels in the heat.  I guess it was getting to be pretty warm because I couldn’t eat much of it before I had to throw it away.  Thankfully between me and Mel we had a lot of Sport Beans that would get us through the race.

We were doing a good job of keeping up our intervals even at this late point in the race.  Unfortunately, we were slowing down all together.  Thankfully, we made it to mile 10 and then got the the on ramp from hell.  In January, Mel had stayed on the outside of the curve in the grass and she felt that her knees handled the hill much better, so that is what we did this time. Taking that approach make a huge difference in how we felt.  For the next mile we walked up the hills and ran down them.

If memory serves me right, we saw Mel’s husband and baby and our friend Jen just before we entered Epcot.  It’s always good to see a friendly face on the course!  In our last mile, we ran from Spaceship Earth to the World Showcase Lagoon.  Then we walked from there out to mile 13.  We did get to see my friend Kirsty who had run the Princess with us last year.  She was near the area where we exit Epcot.

Once we got outside of Epcot, we kept trying to decide how close we wanted to be before we ran all the way to the finish.  We finally agreed on a point and when we reached it we both took off.  I got a few steps ahead of Mel when all of a sudden she started to pass me!  I shouted “You’re not gonna beat me!” and both of us sprinted to the finish.  I guess you could call it a photo finish.  When we checked the official time, I beat Mel by 1/100 of a second. 

Alyssa caught these pictures of use just after we crossed the finish line:

Three tired Princesses!

Of course I plan on doing this race again!  I love this race and hope that one day I will be able finish it in under three hours. 

If you took part in the race, let me know your experiences.  What was your favorite part?  As evidenced by the lack of pictures, we were too focused on finishing to get too many pictures in the second half of the race.  Share your pictures with me and I’ll post them here!

This entry was posted in Disney, Princess, race report. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2011 Princess Half Marathon Race Report – Part 3

  1. Laura says:

    I never blogged before this race but was motivated to do so by the Dis. I'm new at this, so I will take any pointers. Here is my story and additional photos you asked for!
    http://notreallyborntorun.blogspot.com/

    Like

  2. Megan says:

    Thanks for reading Laura! I went over to your blog. I think you're doing a great job so far. I left you a comment over there too!

    Like

  3. Tim says:

    Just FYI, you need to update the info in your sidebar to include your results from this years Princess Half

    Like

  4. Amanda says:

    Glad you made it through the race and had a good time doing it. That's awesome that you did that without really training after the marathon!

    Like

  5. FruitFly says:

    I took the same strategy of running on the grass at the mile 10 hill … but I was on the inside of the hill versus the out. After the hill is when I started to feel like I was hallucinating and running on the sun. Coming from Oregon and training in cold rain, then running this in the heat and humidity – I was dying! I decided to go back in January next year and do the half again just to get a legit finish time. Oh yeah – we took advantage of Corral B and starting with Lilo & Stitch I think we hit almost every single character stop. So bye bye good finish time – but hello to awesome memories and fun pictures!

    Congrats on your finish!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

