It’s fun to stay at the Y-M-C-A!

After enjoying my trial membership at the Y this month I finally took the plunge and signed up for a full membership.  I followed that up with a celebratory 600 meter swim.  Have I mentioned how much I love the pools there?

When I was a member at Ballys, I occasionally used the pool there but I really didn’t like it because the water was too warm (good for the old folks who wanted to do Aquasize) and the pool just never felt clean.  The pools here are kept at 70 (diving well), 74 (main pool) and 84 (swimming lesson pool).  So far I’ve only swam in the diving well and the main pool. 

The cool water is really refreshing for doing laps and since the water is cooler, the air is fresher too.  It doesn’t feel like a sauna when I take a breath.  Since I went in the morning yesterday, I also didn’t need to contend with the high school teams.  That means that I was able to try out the main pool.  Of course I loved it.  It was nice to have the flags above the lanes so that I knew when to flip for my back stroke.  That is of course if I was actually doing flip turns.  I feel a little bit out of practice with those. 

Check out this yummy snack platter that I shared with the Boyfriend this afternoon.  Triscuits, ham and colby cheese with carrot sticks, apples and Dark Chocolate Dreams and The Bee’s Knees. 

We had a picnic right in the living room (we don’t currently have a couch to veg out on) while we were watching the local attractions On Demand show.  Lots of cool stuff to do in this area!

I’m heading over to my friend Mel’s house now.  I don’t know how many miles we’ll be doing, but we’re trying to get in our miles for the Wine and Dine half in the evenings so our bodies don’t revolt during the race.

This entry was posted in swimming, YMCA. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s fun to stay at the Y-M-C-A!

  1. Amanda says:

    That looks like an awesome pool area. The gym I used to go to was similar to the dirty, too hot pool you described and I didn't love that.

    What a great loooking snack platter. Lots of variety and quite healthy.

    Hope you had a great run!

    Like

  2. Megan says:

    It was a great snack platter, but I think it was a bit too much for us. Even with him sharing, it was still a struggle to finish it.

    Like

  3. Fruit Fly says:

    Very cool – I just joined the Y, too! I've been there 2 weeks now… and spend all of my time in the warm pool with the old ladies doing the water aerobics. I keep watching the lap swimmers in the cold pool and think I should take lessons and learn how to do that!

    Like

  4. Pingback: 10 Things on Tuesday Volume 6 | Who me, run?

  5. Pingback: 10 Things on Tuesday Volume 6 | Who me, run?

Leave a Reply

