What a busy workout weekend!

After a yummy snack on Saturday, I made my way out to my friend Mel’s house.  We’re trying to get in night runs to prepare to the Wine and Dine Half Marathon.  Our friend Jen is also training for the race.  She signed up for the relay and she will be running the 5 mile portion of the course. 

We’re not really following a training plan (even though we should be).  Mel is doing a triathlon this weekend so she’s been focusing on that and I’m just happy every time I am able to get a workout in.  We are planning on doing 10 miles two weeks before the race and starting those 10 miles at around 8 pm.  That should be fun…

Yesterday the boyfriend and I took a quick bike ride to a resort near us to use one of our restaurant.com gift certificates.  It was maybe a mile to the resort.  This was actually the first time I rode my bike since I got a tune up for it.  It was nice to have more than three working gears.  Now I just need to learn how to use them.  Had I not just worn my tri shorts I would have worn them on the ride, but since we were biking to lunch, I didn’t want to walk into a restaurant in stinky shorts.

We walked around the resort to check out the amenities too and then grabbed trail map and biked around the resort before biking over to the smaller of the two pools in our complex.  It was hot out and even though the pool wasn’t as cool as the pools at the Y, it felt so refreshing to hot in the water after being out in the sun on the bike.

On thing I forgot to do was put on sunscreen.  Pretty stupid of me in central Florida in August, huh?  It did cross my mind to put it on.  I guess I thought we weren’t going far and I would be coming back after lunch.  I should know better when the boyfriend gets something in his mind.  Needless to say, I got a little color on my shoulders and back.  Lots of aloe was called for. 

This morning I headed to the Y for my first of three sessions that I get with a trainer.  We talked about nutrition.  All stuff I actually know, but usually forget to follow.  I need to be more careful about what I eat.  After our nutrition talk, he walked me through a circuit.  My legs recovered quickly, but my arms felt like jello for pretty much the rest of the day.

Lunch was a toasted ham and cheese sandwich follow by a peanut butter chocolate cupcake from the Yum Yum Cupcake truck.

Dinner was BBQ drumsticks, baked plantains and peas.  Yummy!

And pistachio almond ice cream!

This entry was posted in biking, trainer, Wine and Dine Half Marathon, YMCA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

