September Goals

Sarasota, September 2010

I have been meaning to do this for a while, but always seem to miss the beginning of the month.  Here it is though, September 1, and I am getting this post written AND posted!

1. Complete at least 75% of my training runs.

I’m following the Galloway plan for the Goofy Challenge, but in the meantime, I’m also training for the Wine and Dine half marathon. Thankfully, the Galloway plan takes into account the fact that some people may run in Wine and Dine on their way to the Goofy Challenge so the race is on his training plan.  Check them out here.  I guess that means that I need to figure out a way to get a run in tonight so I don’t start out at 0%!  (Rain, rain, go away!)

2. Eat 5 small meals per day.

I have a bad tendency to skip meals and over indulge at others.  I don’t like that about myself and it sometimes usually leads me to make bad food choices.  I hope you enjoy seeing food pictures because I am trying to document everything.  Of course that won’t always happen, but knowing that I am going to share what I am eating with you often has me second guessing what I am eating.

3. Swim 2 times per week.

I love being in the water and knowing that I have access to the awesome pools at the Y makes it that much easier for me to find time to swim.  I can’t wait to get stronger with my swimming and even if I never get back to the level I was in college, I know that I will still get lots of benefits just by getting some laps in!

4. Bike 2 times per week.

This might be the hardest thing for me to do.  Biking is my weakest area (of the three triathlon sports).  I really should take a biking course since I really don’t know what gears to use when.  Luckily, most of Florida is flat.  I think most of my bike sessions will be to and from the gym.  Once the boyfriend brings my helmet back from Pennsylvania (yeah, somethings didn’t make it onto the moving truck).

5. Swim at least 1200 meters in one workout.

I think this is easily done.  It’s just a matter of me not getting lazy and me also getting to the gym with enough time to complete the workout.  This could very well happen tomorrow when I go for my first Masters swim!

6. Figure out a way to pay for training sessions.

I really enjoy having a trainer.  I’m not always the best at holding myself accountable or pushing myself when I need to, but the past two sessions I’ve gotten better workouts with the trainer than I’ve had in years!

7. Make time for the gym while balancing out my new work schedule and my home life. 

Yup!  I’ve taken a seasonal position for the time being.  I’m going to pick up as many hours as I can since I won’t be making that much per hour, which might mean some 6 am workouts so that I can still get my workouts in.

8. Swim at Lucky’s Lake!

I hesitated to put this as a September goal and I may reevaluate it after a few weeks.  This is dependent on my reaching my other distance goal for swimming.  If I don’t make that I may hold off until October for this swim. 

What are your goals this month?  Any races planned?

This entry was posted in Galloway, goals, Running, swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to September Goals

  1. Courtney says:

    A job is better than no job, right? Keep up the great work!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Amanda says:

    Great September goals, reasonable and doable :)!

    Glad you're using the Galloway plan and hope it works for you!

    Keep up the great work.

    Like

  3. Fruit Fly says:

    You're going Goofy, eh? Very cool! I'm not doing Goofy … but I AM doing the Half and then the Relay, so that's pretty darn close. I'm glad you mentioned the training plans – I just clicked and opened. I want to be more prepared going into that weekend than I normally am!

    Like

Leave a Reply

