Eating to the Beat!

Today was an early day for me.  I opened today.  That means that I leave the house and get to work before the sun even comes up.  Unfortunately, when the sun is actually rising, I am inside running reports and assigning people to their positions for the day.  Once I’m back outside the sun is already up and the temperature is rising.

Today was a remarkably easy day at work.  By the time I had completed my morning tasks, I was way ahead of schedule and I began to wonder if I had forgotten something major, but no, I was just working that efficiently.  Things ran great for me.  In some ways, I was upset because unlike last week, I wasn’t running back and forth as much.  I actually had to make an effort to walk my zone several times just so that I could get the extra steps.

After work I hurried to get changed because I wanted to see the 5:30 Boyz II Men show.  I just barely made it to the show and had to stand in the back but it was still a great show and I got to hear a lot of my favorites.

For my eats today, I started the day with some peanut butter toast.  I got to have a piece of spanikopita during a morning tasting. 

For lunch, some penne with meat sauce.

And a side of Publix lemon chiffon yogurt.

And then after the show I got to try the White Corn Arepa with Mangalitsa Pork Rilette and Zellwood Sweet Corn Salad and Florida Orange Grove Key Limen wine from the new Florida Local marketplace at the Epcot Food and Wine Festival.  This was delicious.  Arepa is a dish that I discovered here in Florida.  It two corn cakes, and aside from this, I’ve always seen it with cheese in it.  I knew that this would have the pork in it (which comes from a local breed of pig), but I didn’t know that it wouldn’t have the cheese in it.  I think adding some cheese would have only made it better.  The Key Limen wine was delicious.  I find that I am tending towards sweeter wines lately and this one seemed like a sweet Riesling with a key lime twist.

Just because I needed (aka, wanted) one more sweet thing, I got the Cannoli al Cioccolato from the Italy marketplace.  I had this at last year’s festival and it was a delicious as I remember.  It also cost more than I remember.  As delicious as it was, I may skip it next time at that price. 

One big perk to the night was that I got carded.  Sweet!  It doesn’t happen to me that much anymore, but when it does, it always makes me smile.

This entry was posted in arepa, Boyz II Men, Epcot, Florida Orange Grove Key Limen, food and wine festival. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eating to the Beat!

  1. Fruit Fly says:

    I watched Boyz II Men there in 2010 and it was fun! But Sugar Ray this year, 3rd row, greatest night of 2012 so far!!

    Like

  2. Megan says:

    I heard some of Sugar Ray from Italy, but I didn't get to see any of him. I also saw Starship last weekend. Javier Colon from The Voice is there right now, but I have no desire to see him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

