What are Your Goals this Year?

I’ve considered making resolutions this year but I never seem to keep them. This year my number one goal is to continue on the weight loss track that I started this past year.

Last year I lost about 25 pounds. I would love it if I could lose another 25 pounds this year. Of course, just maintaining the first 25 pounds would be a great accomplishment too. I fell off the wagon a bit in the past week. I’m sure it was somewhat emotional eating.

My dear Aunt Betty passed away just before Christmas. Even though I haven’t been home for a Christmas in more than ten years, the thought of not having her stuffed shells any more made me really miss her. It also resulted in me making a pan of stuffed shells. I did share it, but I’m pretty sure I ate 3/4 of it myself. I spread it out over 5 days, but I am feeling like a gained a pound or so back because of it.

So this year I plan on focusing on portion control, making healthier recipes and finding ways to incorporate more fruits and veggies into my diet. I may try to have a more paleo focused diet, but I’m Italian and I love my pasta and find the thought of giving up grains all together a bit disturbing. I also am still trying to keep myself on a strict budget and pasta is a great way to stretch my food budget.

Of course, I also need to keep up my physical activity. Since I went from working in a job where I was walking miles per day to working in a job where I stand in place for 8 hours per day, I need to make more time to get to the gym or get out for a run more often. Thankfully I have an enthusiastic workout buddy!

My workout today included my favorite Pilates mat workout by Ana Caban. And the Dumbbell Smart Arms workout. I was really happy to do the Pilates workout, but it made me realize how much flexibility I’ve lost. I guess I’ll be doing that workout more often to get back some of my flexibility! Also, I wasn’t able to up the weight of the dumbbell workout today since I did the workout at home. I definitely need to up the weight on it to receive the maximum benefit of the workout next time.

So, what are your workout goals this year? Have you started off the new year right?

This entry was posted in Ana Caban, dumbbell arm workout, New year goals, Pilates. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What are Your Goals this Year?

  1. Crystal says:

    My body freaked out a little, too, when I went from Speedway where I was legit walking back and forth CONSTANTLY, to Ye Olde Concierge, where I just stood there and looked pretty (and knowledgable).

    I didn't do any straight-up resolutions this year, but my major goal is to start earning enough from my blog to be able to move! I want to have a pretty steady online income coming in when I got back to Disney so that I don't have to freak out about money like before! (Also, being able to afford to eat is rad.)

    Like

  2. Megan says:

    I love the goals you have listed! It makes me want to revise my goals even. Sounds like you have a lot of fun things that you want to try. Good luck with the Coast to Coast. I'll see you at the Wine and Dine (or maybe just the after party since I'll hopefully be working it!).

    Like

  3. Megan says:

    I absolutely agree about the body freaking out part. After working food and wine and not standing still for a second, concierge is a big change for me. My body is starting to go into 'office' mode again.

    Like

  4. Amanda says:

    Sorry to hear about your Aunt. Looks like you have some great goals for the year. No goals for me as I try to get my health back on track.

    Like

Leave a Reply

