It’s a Success!

I hate it when I get home and I’ve forgotten to defrost anything for dinner.

Luckily, last night I thankfully had chicken that I could defrost quickly. I cut it up and seasoned it with garlic powder, onion powder, celery salt, organo, basil, salt and pepper. At the last second I decided to add some Italian seasoned breadcrumbs to it.

I boiled a box of Barilla whole wheat penne while I cooked the chicken in a hot pan in EVOO. When the chicken was almost done I threw in some fresh onions for a minutes followed by an Italian veggie blend. I generously season everything and at the last minute, decided to add some red pepper flakes.

Once the pasta was done cooking I took a scoop of the pasta water and added it to the pan of chicken then I drained the pasta. I dumped everything from the chicken pan into the pasta pan and added the pasta back to the pan. With a little bit of butter (maybe a tablespoon), EVOO and Parmesan, I tossed everything together.

It was amazing! I don’t always have the best luck when I’m making a dish without a recipe, but it definitely is one of my better experiments. That’s why I needed to write it down here. Don’t need to forget what I did, right?

Here’s a knee update:

I had a nurse look at it the other day and the medicine was working. The bite is incredibly gross but I have all the right medicine to take care of it. I’ve been cleared to run as I can tolerate it. Since I’m working some very long shifts the next two days, I plan to try out my knee on Tuesday. I only hope to go 1-2 miles, but if I feel okay I may try to do more.

I’ll keep you updated!

What are your dinner experiments successes?

This entry was posted in Barilla whole wheat pasta, chicken and veggie pasta. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

