Pillsbury Artisan Crust Review

The wonderful people at My Blog Spark hooked me up with Pillsbury to try out their new Artisan Pizza Crust with Whole Grain.  I got my package in the mail the other day and was able to try out this delicious new item from Pillsbury for dinner the other night. 

When I opened up my pack I was was very excited to see that I got a pizza pan, pizza cutter (with bottle opener – score!) and a nifty bamboo football shaped cutting board.  The package also included a coupon for the Artisan Pizza Crust.  While I could have tried any of the exciting recipes available here with the crust, the request came in from the peanut gallery to make a margarita pizza.  I’m always up for a margarita pizza so I wasn’t going to turn that request down!

Pillsbury Pizza Kit

Pillsbury Artisan Pizza Crust with Whole Grain

Pizza cutter – with a bottle opener!!!
Crust ready to go into the oven!

The dough had some slightly different directions than what I’m used to.  I guess its a good thing that I looked at the package for the cooking temperature before I started making my pizza.  Unlike most other crusts that I’ve used, this one actually had me precooking it for 8 minutes before adding the toppings to the pizza to finish it off.  It may be my oven, but I might actually cook it for a bit longer next time before adding the toppings. The total cooking time was about 16 minutes.  That’s a little bit longer than I’m used to, so it I were to cook this on my pizza stone instead of the pan provided, it may not take as long.

Pizza Margarita
The end results!

The results were delicious! I really enjoyed the crust, especially the second day after I had reheated it on my pizza stone.  It had a great flavor to it when it is crispy.  I want to try this crust out with some more substantial toppings on it next time since I think it may stand up really nicely to a spicy sausage.

Yummy pizza made from Pillsbury Artisan Pizza Crust

Here’s the fun part! I’m able to give away a complete set of everything I was given (pan, cutting board, pizza cutter and coupon) to one of my readers.  Unfortunately, you won’t be able to get the football cutting board in time for the Superbowl but you will have it ready for the next football season!  Just comment on this post and tell me what your favorite pizza topping is.  For additional entries, tweet about the drawing and be sure to mention me (@mla1977), and like Who Me, Run? on Facebook.  Make sure to post a comment here for each additional entry to count.  The contest will run until this Thursday at 9pm EST.  I’ll post about the winner on Friday morning.

Even if you don’t win the prize package, you can download your own coupon here.  Don’t forget to like Pillsbury on Facebook and follow them on Twitter too!

Disclosure: The product, gift pack, information, and additional sample have been provided by Pillsbury through MyBlogSpark.

This entry was posted in Pillsbury, Pillsbury Artisan Pizza Crust with Whole Grains, Pizza Margarita. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pillsbury Artisan Crust Review

  1. cherylp says:

    I like you on facebook

    Like

  2. Amy Young says:

    THRILLED to try this product! Thanks for the review! We do anythign veggie! Peppers, onions. carrots, Brocolli.

    Like

Leave a Reply

