Gym Etiquette

As much as I don’t like working second shift, there are some definite perks to it.  I always find it hard to get to the gym after work in the evening.  With not having to get to work until 2 or 3, I am able to get my sweat on in the morning and still have time for getting ready for work and getting ready for work.

This morning I had a yummy breakfast.  I’m not able to function to well in the morning to make a good breakfast aside from oatmeal, but I’m glad that occasionally, breakfast gets made for me.  Today it was scrambled eggs with veggies and some cheese.  Yum!

After breakfast, I headed to the gym at my apartment complex.  The radio was playing but no one else was there so I switched it to a station that I like and turned it down a little bit.  I hopped on the treadmill and put my earbuds in so that I could listen to the prompts for my intervals.  All set to enjoy myself and see what my body was capable of less than a week after the Princess Half Marathon.

About 5 minutes into my run, another girl came in.  She walked over to the radio and changed the radio station.  No big deal right?  I did have my earbuds in so she could have assumed that I was listening to my own music.  If that was all that happened, I would have been okay with her changing the station.  Unfortunately, she also turned up the radio so loud that I couldn’t even hear the music or prompts that were coming from my earbuds.  This really frustrated me.  I was tempted to grab the TV remote and turn up the TV volume to drown out the radio.  Stupid me had moved the remote over to the treadmill that she got on.  Note to self, keep the remote handy!

I feel that this girl violated the unspoken gym etiquette rules by changing the station without asking about changing the station or at least asking if I minded the volume being up that high.  If she had been the one in the gym when I got there, I wouldn’t have made any changes to the radio until she left the gym.  Like I said, she could have assumed that I was listening to my own music, but to turn up the radio as loud as she did seemed uncalled for.

It got me thinking about the what the appropriate etiquette is when selecting music in the gym.  This isn’t a large gym like Bally Total Fitness where I used to go.  This is a small community gym open only to residents and their guests.  The people in the gym are your neighbors, not complete strangers.

What do you think is appropriate gym etiquette?

That being said, I did get a good workout in.  I got a nice and fast mile+ run in (for me). I followed it with Dumbbells Smart Arms using a 10-lb dumbbell for all moves.  I also tried out a new leg working from Pinterest called Legs For Days.  Not too bad if I say so myself!

I also had a delicious lunch prepared for me.  It is definitely a repeatable lunch.  You should try it some time!

Tuna Pasta Salad
 

Whole Wheat Pasta
1 can tuna
1/2 cucumber, diced
1/2 tomato, diced

Sprinkle of Mexican blend cheese
Red wine vinegrette (to taste)

Cook pasta until al dente.  Drain then rinse with cold water to stop cooking process and cool pasta.  Toss everything together, adding as much dressing as you like.

Tuna Pasta Salad

Did you know that today is National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day?  At least according to Facebook it is.  I may need to do some research and come up with some yummy recipes to celebrate this!

This entry was posted in dumbbell smart arms, dumbbell workout out for girls, gym etiquette, leg workout, legs for days, tuna pasta salad. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

