National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day

I love the things you learn on Facebook. Did you know that yesterday was National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day? I didn’t until I saw it all over my Facebook time line.

First there was the tribute to Mr. HB Reese from Hersheypark (I really miss my annual trips there):

from Hersheypark Facebook page

When I got back on Facebook again later during the day, I found this picture from NatureBox.

from NatureBox Facebook page

They were sharing a post for a Chocolate Peanut Butter recipe.  I may have to try this in the future.  We all know how much I love chocolate peanut butter.  Fortunately (or unfortunately) someone else in this house has also discovered how amazing the Peanut Butter & Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams is, so a jar doesn’t last very long here.  Check out their website and the video that starts playing.  Perfect for National Peanut Butter Lover’s day!

And in celebration of Peanut Butter, I went a little bit nuts (haha!) on Pinterest trying to find some great PB recipes.  Here are some of the ones I intend on trying in the very near future.

I’m especially excited about making the Peanut Butter Chocolate Balls.  They are a staple with my family during the holidays.  Believe it or not, I actually don’t have the family recipe for it, but this one sounds very close.  If I don’t get the family recipe soon, this may become my go to recipe.  (I may need to call out my cousin on Facebook so that she sends me the recipe).

I also LOVE Peanut Butter Blossoms.  I will hopefully make them in the near future and share the family recipe with you then.

I did have one more recipe to share with you that I found when I was unpacking some boxes earlier this week.  I haven’t made this in a long time, but I plan on making again.  Hopefully this week, but I need to get to the store to pick up some of the ingredients that I’m missing.  I like to add chicken or shrimp to it to make a complete meal out of it.

Spicy Peanut Noodles

Spicy Peanut Noodles

1 lb spaghetti noodles (linguini works good too)
1/2 c. peanut butter
2 tbs white wine vinegar
2 tbs soy sauce
1 tbs brown sugar
1 tbs fresh grated ginger
1 tbs sesame oil
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1 small garlic clove, minced
3/4 cup very hot chicken broth
1 medium carrot, shredded
1 tbs toasted sesame seeds

1. Cook noodles according to package, drain, and return to pot.
2. Combine peanut butter, vinegar, soy sauce, sugar, ginger, oil, pepper, garlic, and chicken broth in blender. Process until well mixed.
3. Pour sauce over noodles and toss until noodles are coated.
4. Serve topped with carrots and sesame seeds.

When you are tossing the noodles and the sauce, you can add the chicken or shrimp then if you want it coated in the sauce, or you could serve them on top.  I prefer to have them mixed in.  One other tip: if you have leftovers, keep some chicken stock too so that you can refresh the sauce a bit, otherwise the leftovers can be a bit dry.  I found this recipe a long time ago in a packet of recipe cards sent to by Easy Everyday Cooking.

Well, what turned into a simple post as a tribute to peanut butter has certainly turned into a long post.  If you’ve stuck with me all the way until the end, thank you!  I’d love to hear what your favorite peanut butter recipes are.  Share them with me and I’ll post them here along with my results when I try them myself!

This entry was posted in Hersheypark, National Peanut Butter Lover's Day, NatureBox, peanut butter, Peanut Butter and Co., peanut butter chocolate balls, Spicy Peanut Noodles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

