To Tri or Not

After I finished the Princess Half Marathon with Mel, she told me that she wants us to do the Danskin Triathlon with her.  Of course, when I Googled it, it somehow led to the Iron Girl Event Series.  Conveniently, Mel had also inquired about doing the Iron Girl Half Marathon in Clearwater in April.  Looks like I may be able to fill up my race calendar for the fall!

It will be nice to be able to do some other races after having not done any between the 2012 Princess and 2013 Princess.  I guess I should really 1) get registered, 2) get my bike out of storage, and 3) start training!

The hardest part of this will be the bike riding.  My bike has been in storage since August and I haven’t really taken it out for a ride since last spring.  Oh yeah, and the triathlon is in Clermont and Clermont is full of hills.  Remember the last time I was in Clermont for a triathlon?  At least now I live much closer to Clermont and I may be able to get over there for some training rides.

For dinner last night, I got the request to make shepherd’s pie.  This came as I was planning to just have leftovers for dinner.  I ran out to Publix and got all the ingredients and was able to have the shepherd’s pie in the oven in about an hour.  I have to say that this was the best shepherd’s pie I’ve ever made.  I’ll do my best to come up with the recipe here, but I didn’t take exact measurements as I was putting everything together.

Shepherd’s Pie

1 lb ground beef
1 small onion, diced
1 can corn
1 can creamed corn
3 large potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch cubes
1/2 c. half and half
1/4 c. butter
Garlic powder
Parsley
Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

1. Boil potatoes until they can be pierce easily with a knife.
2. While potatoes are cooking, brown ground beef with onion, add salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste. Make sure to break up the ground beef into smalls pieces.
3. Transfer ground beef mixture to casserole dish.  Top with canned corn, followed by creamed corn.  Set aside.
4. When potatoes are cooked, drain and return to pot.  Add butter, half and half, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and parsley to taste.  Mash potatoes until creamy, then transfer to casserole.
5. Top potatoes with a few pats of butter and place in oven until peaks of potatoes are golden brown.

Enjoy!

Who watches the All-Star Celebrity Apprentice?  I don’t normally but I did see the season premier last night.  Without giving away anything, I’m just going to say that Trump made the wrong decision.  As did the losing project manager.  What do you think?

This entry was posted in Iron Girl event series, Iron Girl Half Marathon, shepherd's pie, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

