Happy Spring!

I woke up to a short thunderstorm this morning.  What a way to start spring.  My grandpa always said that March comes in like a lion and goes out like a lamb.  Judging by the weather they are having back home, March is fixing to head out like a lion too!  (Holy cow!  I’ve been living south of the Mason-Dixon line for too long!  I just voluntarily ‘Fixin’ to.’  At least when I was typing it I left the “G” in it! LOL!)

So remember that chicken I made in the crockpot the other day? Today I used what was left to make chicken soup.  My apartment smells soooo good.  I didn’t have many vegetables left in the house (tomorrow is pay day and grocery day) so I put some carrots in it and used half a box of orzo to add some substance to it.  It taste delicious, but I needed to add some salt and soy sauce to it for some extra flavor.  Does anyone have any tips to make a broth more flavorful without adding too much salt?  With the history of heart disease and high blood pressure in my family, I need to watch my salt intake.

I also made it to the gym Monday and again this morning.  I always feel better after I get to the gym.  I managed to get 2.1 miles done on Monday and 2.23 miles done today.  I may register for a 5K next month.  This may be the 5K that finally gets me faster than my age!  That has been a goal of mine for a while and I feel like it might be in me this time around.  I know it doesn’t seem like much, but my best 5K time was around 40 minutes and I really think I can reach the 36 minute mark soon.  I have lost so much weight since the last time I did a 5K and I am feeling much stronger and healthier than I have in years.

My run today had me doing intervals of 1:15 run/:45 walk.  The walk pace felt slow to me, but I was afraid to speed it up too much.  Maybe by the end of the week I will either speed up the walk pace or cut back the walk time some more.  We’ll see!

Did you ever have a goal in mind that you were just sure you could attain?

Oh yeah, we went out to Epcot the other night and I just wanted to share this picture that was taken of me.  I usually don’t like the way I look in pictures, but I’m happy with this one so I thought I’d share!

This entry was posted in 5K, chicken soup, Epcot, running intervals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

