Oddities

I’m getting ready for the 5K.  I really can’t wait to run it.  Of course, I thought it was in the morning before work, but it turns out that it is in the evening.  I’m not too thrilled about needing to get to downtown Orlando during rush hour.  I guess I’ll need to plan a day in the city so that I don’t need to drive during rush hour.  Any locals have any suggestions of any activities that I can do?

I have a new neighbor.  Or a returning neighbor.  Either way, my “buddy” is here!  Welcome to Florida living!

Gator time!

And the other week when I was working on cleaning out my storage place, I came across a notebook I kept when I was the senior class secretary.  I guess I always have a problem throwing things, out, but at least this time I was able to get a few pictures and then finally part ways with the notes.  Here are the grand ideas that we had to make our senior year fun, and the minutes that I took from one of our meetings.  Pretty cool to come across this since I just got contacted about starting to plan out next reunion.

Senior class agenda
Class minutes

The other day I was watching the Rachael Ray show and she made a dish that looked interesting.  Sloppy Potatoes.  Yup.  I decided to give it a try.  She used sweet potatoes and since I love sweet potatoes, I decided that was the way to go.  I used her recipe from her show’s website.  I didn’t follow the list of ingredients item by item since I didn’t have all of them, but here is her list of ingredients:

Ingredients

  • 4 large Russet or sweet potatoes, scrubbed and dried
  • Olive oil cooking spray
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 tablespoon olive or vegetable oil
  • 1 pound ground turkey or beef (I used beef)
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 tablespoon cumin, a scant palmful
  • 1 tablespoon coriander, a scant palmful (I skipped this)
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder, a scant palmful (I used a good amount more that this)
  • 1 onion, finely chopped (I skipped this and used onion powder)
  • 2 to 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped (I skipped this and used garlic powder)
  • 1 tablespoon light brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cider vinegar (I only had red wine vinegar)
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 cup tomato passata or purée (I used ketchup)
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (whoops!  I could have added this, but forgot)
  • Chopped scallions and chopped pickles, for garnish 
Sloppy Potatoes

It came out amazing!  I wasn’t too sure about having the sweet potatoes with it, but it was a great combination.  I glad I have some for tomorrow too. 

Flipper’s Arugula and Prosciutto Pizza

We also went to Flippers pizza the other day.  They have an amazing pizza made with mozzarella, asiago, prosciutto, pine nuts and arugula.  This is the second time we had it.  I highly recommend it.  I owe Yelp a review of the Flippers near me.  As soon as it posts, I’ll be sure to share it with you.

This entry was posted in 5K, Flipper's pizza, Florida, gators, Rachael Ray, sloppy potatoes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

