Greetings from the Treasure Coast!

Vero Beach

I decided to escape from Orlando to the coast for a few days.  I’m staying at Disney’s Vero Beach Resort and have been relaxing and enjoying the views.  Unfortunately, Mother Nature decided to give us some much-needed rain this week too.  I’m not too worried about it.  It cleared up enough this morning for me to go around and explore the resort.  I even grabbed us a yummy hummus platter from the pool bar as a snack.

Disney’s Vero Beach Resort

We also went up to Sebastian to Mel Fisher’s Treasures Museum.  Mel Fisher was a treasure hunter who found treasure just off the coast of Sebastian, Florida and also found one of the biggest treasures when his crew found the Atocha off the coast of Key West.  The treasures they found were amazing!  A lot of it is on display in a museum in Key West, but since there is still an operation in Sebastian too, they have a museum in this area too.  They do have some of the treasure for sale too.  As if I have that kind of money.  Hopefully we’ll make it down to Key West soon so I can see the other museum.

Mel Fisher’s Treasures Museum
Jewelry recovered from Atocha

Silver recover from Atocha

After visiting the museum, we headed back to the resort and grabbed lunch at Penny Hill Beach Emporium.  I got a sandwich called the Waist Watcher.  It was a tuna salad with cucumber, sprouts, lettuce, and oil and vinegar.  It was really good, but if I were to get it again, I may ask them to hold the oil and vinegar.  Since I haven’t been sleeping very well lately, I laid down to take a nap.  I felt so much better after it!

Good Eats!

Luckily, the rain was still holding off after I got up from my nap and we decided to get up and go for a walk on the beach before grabbing dinner.  It was very windy, but I managed to get my feet wet and the water was nice and warm.  We walked for a while and collected some shells and even came across a coconut on the beach!

Fun on the beach!

After our walk, we got some pizza from Orchid Island Pizzeria.  Good pizza is hard to come by in Florida, especially for someone like me who grew up in the northeast with the best pizza outside of Naples, Italy.  I have to say that this was some of the best pizza I’ve ever had in Florida.  The only drawback was how much it cost.  A medium (14-inch) pizza, an order of garlic knots and a can of diet coke came to $22.  Wow!  It was good though.  Next time I’m here, I may consider just ordering a slice.

Tomorrow, I plan on getting up and heading out for a run before we head back to Orlando.  If I’m lucky, the rain will stay away long enough for me to get into the pool here and try out the awesome slide!

Have you guys seen this video that a couple got of a pod of killer whales who were “surfing” near their boat?  It is amazing!

Also, don’t forget that I am raising money for Give Kids the World Village while I train for the 2014 WDW Half Marathon.  I’ve already raised $683 and I have until the end of the year to reach my goal of $3000.  I would love to surpass that and get even more for such a great organization.  If you are able to make a donation, you can donate right here.  Also, please share my fundraising page with your friends and family.  The more people know about this fundraising, the quicker I reach my goal!

This entry was posted in Atocha, beach, Disney's Vero Beach Resort, DVC, Florida, Mel Fisher's Treasures, Treasure Coast. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Greetings from the Treasure Coast!

  1. Sarah says:

    looks wonderful and like sooo much fun!

    Like

  2. Pingback: 10 Things on Tuesday Volume 2 | Who me, run?

Leave a Reply

