What Do You Eat Before a Workout?

It’s just been one of those months.  I think I over did it at the beginning of the month trying to do the Runners World Run Streak challenge.  My knee was really sore while running after my first week on the challenge.  So yet again, I find that I did not succeed at a challenge.

Unfortunately, when my knee started to feel less bad, I developed some sort of allergy or sinus infection.  I had no trouble breathing during the day because the congestion that I was experiencing was primarily in the back of my sinuses.  That would change when I went to bed.  I could fall asleep on my side but if I rolled onto my back I would end up with everything dripping into my throat (TMI, I know).  I found that the only way I could sleep for an extended period of time was when I was sleeping on my stomach and using the pillows and my arms to support my head kind of like a massage table.

I’m starting to feel better today though!  I’ve slacked majorly on the fitness for two weeks and my diet has been anything but ideal (no Facebook lectures mom!).  Today I went over to the gym and got in a short workout on the elliptical followed by a little bit of time near the pool.  Yup near.  Working primarily indoors does not help me when it comes to looking like I actually live in Florida.  I need a tan!

Since my work schedule varies by the week, there are many mornings that I am able to sleep in, and still get a workout in before I head to work.  I do find that I need to have something in my stomach before I head to the gym.  I try to have a small snack though because I don’t want to have too much to eat and end up feeling sick while I’m working out.  Depending on how hungry I am, I may just have a scoop of peanut butter or I may make some toast.  I save the bigger meal for when I’m done.

What do you usually have before a workout?


Universal Studios Orlando

We made it over to Universal Studios before the new Transformers ride opened.  We were there to check out the ride since it was in “dress rehearsals” and also to check out the new Simpsons area.  I was so excited to see Moe’s Tavern in real life and to try a Krusty burger and Duff beer.  By the time we got there we were starving and headed over to check out Krusty’s right away.

Cletus’ Chicken Shack

Krusty Burger

The Krusty burger is a cheeseburger that is served with melted cheddar cheese (think of the kind of cheese you get on ball park nachos) and sauce that is kind of like a thousand island dressing.  It also comes with curly fries on the side.  Yum!  I’m not usually a big fan of thousand island dressing so I had mine on the side and ended up dipping some of my fries in it.  I really enjoyed the burger.  It’s not something that I would go to the park just to have but it is something I may pick up occasionally.



Krusty Burger and Fries

The Duff beer however, I would make a special stop for.  There are actually three different types of Duff beer.  Regular Duff is like a lager.  The bartender described it as a tasting somewhere between Sam Adams and Yeungling Lager.  Duff Lite is like a pilsner and Duff Dry is more of a porter.  When we were visiting, you could only get Duff and Duff Lite inside Moe’s.  Duff Dry is available inside the food court area behind the seating areas.  I ended up getting the regular Duff.  I really enjoyed it.



Duff Beer

The last thing that I ended up trying later that day was the Flaming Moe.  This is like an orange soda, but it is served over dry ice.  It was really tasty.  It reminded me of an Orangina.  It is somewhat expensive though because it is served in a souvenir glass.  I’m not sure I can see a way that this would be served in any other manner though because of the dry ice.  It was delicious and perfect for a one in a while kind of treat, but it isn’t something that I would make a special trip for like a Butterbeer.



Flaming Moe

We also made it on to Transformers.  Twice.  It was a long wait both times, but it was definitely worth it.  For those of you who have been on it, the ride mechanism is similar to the Spiderman ride at Islands of Adventure, but I think it is way better.  I’m not sure if it is because I like the story of Transformers more, but I had a lot more fun on the ride.  I would gladly go on this ride again.  I have no plans to go back to Universal any time soon and I will be make sure to share more pictures of the area when I go!


Transformers The Ride 3D
Lisa Simpson



Casanova – but I already knew that!



Moe’s Tavern

This entry was posted in breakfast, Duff Beer, Moe's Tavern, Simpsons, Springfield, Transformers The Ride 3D, Universal Studios. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

