Virtual Runs

No, I don’t mean instances where you virtually get off the couch and run.  I mean the runs that are organized for charity and run all over the country.  Runs that don’t have a set location or a specific time, but are run by many different people whenever they can.  These runs are organized by individuals or small groups and are used as fundraisers for charities. 

I joined a group on Facebook called Virtual Runs! The members of the group love to do virtual runs for charity and are highly motivated by the awesome bling that the hosts offer (who isn’t?).  Many of the runs are Disney themed because of the popularity of the characters, but there are many other themes out there.  Some of the other themes I’ve seen out there are The Hunger Games, Harry Potter, and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.  Some of these are actually series where people can get multiple medals following the theme.

I decided to do my own virtual run for Give Kids the World.  In my case, I wanted to avoid the Disney theme.  There are so many awesome ideas out there, but there are just too many.  I decided I wanted to do something tropical.  I had a palm tree medal in my mind.  As soon as I submitted my ideas to the medal company, I had a brain storm and started coming up with tons of other ideas.  One of them was Cheeseburger in Paradise.  Then I had the wild idea to come up with a series of medals based on Jimmy Buffett songs.  Palm trees, flip flops and margaritas.  Who wouldn’t love that idea?

I got my first proof back for the first medal in the series called Changes in Latitudes and I promptly posted it on the group page.  The feedback on it was so amazing that I decided to do the whole series.  I’m still working on the rest of the medals, but the series is going to be awesome!

Here is the proof for the first medal:

Changes in Latitudes 5K medal

I can’t wait for the rest of the proofs to be completed!

If you are interested in joining the virtual runs for one or all five of the runs, please sign up on my event registration page on Eventbrite.  Once you are signed up there, please join the fun over on the Facebook event page and get to know your fellow Parrothead runners.

If you want to know about my other fundraising efforts, you can visit my First Giving page where all of my donations are collected.  If you want to learn more about Give Kids the World, you can visit my first post about them here or you can visit their website for more information.

This entry was posted in Changes in Latitudes, charity, fundraising, Give Kids the World, Jimmy Buffett, margaritas, virtual runs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

