First Taste of Epcot’s International Food and Wine Festival

We were able to visit the Epcot International Food
and Wine Festival on it’s opening day.  If you’ve been
reading along with me for the past few years, you’ll know how much I
love this festival.  I’ve worked it for the past few years as cast
member in the kiosks and more recently as a zone supervisor.  I truly
love this event at Epcot and I would have happily gone back to work at
it this year.  The only reason I didn’t go back to work it this year was
because I didn’t want to lose my forward momentum that I’d been gaining
in my current job.  That so far has worked out in my favor.

We
got to Epcot around 5 and headed straight back to the World Showcase. 
Rob wanted to try the vegetarian haggis available at the new Scotland
kiosk.  I admit that I was intrigued.  Haggis is so focused the random
animal parts that are used to make it, I wasn’t sure how this would
work.

As it turns out, the vegetarian haggis was delicious!  It was
flavorful and had mashed potatoes and another root vegetable.  I
definitely recommend trying it out.  After that, we stopped in Greece
and got the spanikopita, the spinach and feta stuffed filo dough.  It
was salty and crispy, served a little bit too hot though.  It must has
just come out of the oven. 

We
then made our way over to Ireland.  Ireland makes this festival worth a
visit by itself.  I got the Cheese Selection which is a perennial
favorite of mine.  I also got the Warn Chocolate Pudding with Bailey’s
Custard.  I was sadden when they did not list the Warm Chocolate Lava
Cake with Bailey’s Chocolate Ganache.  I can honestly say that they
change to the Bailey’s Custard is one of the best changes of the
festival.  The creamy Bailey’s custard provides a much better balance to
the dish than the chocolate ganache.  The pudding itself is actually
the same as the lava cake.  Maybe slightly less oozy in the middle, but
other than that, I wouldn’t be able to tell you the difference.

Rob
got the Lobster and Seafood Fisherman’s Pie.  If you haven’t had it
before, think of a Shepherd’s Pie (like mine!), but instead of the meat
and veggies under the mashed potatoes, there is a very rich seafood
stew.  Just writing this is making me think I will try to make one this
weekend…  Of course he loved it and begrudgingly gave me a few bites of
it.  He also had a Guinness.

We skipped over the next few countries but I needed to stop in Florida Local do get a glass of the Hurricane 5 White Sangria.  It is a refreshing sweet white wine.  Nice on a hot Florida day.

We stopped to see Starship perform at the American Gardens Theater too.  I really enjoy their shows.  They visit for the Food and Wine Festival and the Flower and Garden Festival, so for the past few years, I’ve had the opportunity to perform twice per year for the past few years.

After the show, Epcot was getting a little bit crowded so we started to head out.  The memory of the shrimp taco drew me back to the Mexico.  Still as crispy and delicious as I remember.  I may or may not have some shrimp in the freezer to attempt to replicate the dish this week.

One last stop was in Terra.  I told Rob how good the Chili Colorado was and he said it needed meat.  So I got it for him to try it.  The recipe for it was in last year’s Festival cookbook.  Conveniently, Target sells the main ingredient.

I’ve since been back to the festival and tried some other items since then, but I’ll save them for another post.  I’m sure I’ve got you drooling already.

This entry was posted in Epcot, fisherman's pie, food and wine festival, haggis, Ireland, Scotland, vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

