The Best Thing That Happened to You This Week

During my break at work yesterday I stumbled across a recipe for Caramelized Pear and Gorgonzola Flatbread from Shape Magazine’s Twitter account.  I realized that I had most of the ingredients at home so I decided to make it for dinner.

I sent the message home to get some pizza dough out of the freezer and on my way home, I picked up some gorgonzola on the way home and got to work as soon as I got home.  I know the recipe says that it takes 30 minutes or less, but since I didn’t have any flatbread dough, it took me a little bit longer.  I preheated my Pampered Chef pizza stone and started slicing up the the pears and onions.

Once I got those in the pan to start caramelizing, I pulled the pizza stone out of the oven so I could stretch the dough out and pre-cook it.  Interesting fact, I put the dough on the stone and went back to stir up the pears and onions.  I planned on taking a fork and poking a bunch of holes in the dough so that it wouldn’t rise too much (trying to make my own flatbread).  Once I started poking the holes, I realized that the bottom of the dough had cooked enough in those few minutes that I could flip over the dough before I put it in the oven.  That is exactly what I did!  I love the way the dough came out.  I may try this with pizzas in the future

I almost forgot the walnuts when I started to assemble the pizza, but I grabbed those out of the cabinet and got them chopped up.  The only thing I skipped in the recipe was the basil.  Partly because I forgot to pick it up at the store and mostly because I think it would taste better with arugula. 

Caramelized Pear and Gorgonzola Flatbread

Holy Yum! is all I have to say about this pizza!  My sweetie didn’t like the pears.  That just means more for me!

Aside from having a delicious dinner, I had a pretty good day at work.  I was just helping the managers out with something and saw a familiar phone number come up on my phone.  Of course, I couldn’t take the call right away, so I excused myself to get a drink and listened to the voice mail.  It was from one of the people I had interviewed with last month.  I had already spoken to him once a few days after the interview when he called to say that I was being put on the “bench.”  That is Disney-speak meaning that I was put on a list of eligible candidates that they could pull from when an opening became available.  Well, the call last night was because there is an opening and I will be starting a new temporary assignment (TA) the day after I complete my current TA!

Don’t get me wrong.  I love my permanent job and I do plan to go back there.  The new job will give me great exposure and help me learn some new skills that I hope will help me in my long term goals with Disney.  Wish me luck!

What was the best thing that happened to you this week?

This entry was posted in caramelized pear and gorgonzola pizza, Pampered Chef, Shape Magazine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

