What is Your Super Power? And a Giveaway!!!

I was listening to an old episode of This American Life the other week. You know, the show on NPR. Yup, I love that show!

It got me thinking. I’ve talked about it with friends before about what my superpower might be. I don’t necessarily want to get a superpower by being bit my a radioactive spider or being born on some alien planet. I like more of the mutant approach to superpowers. Something you may already have a tendency to or a natural ability that is amplified.

There have been times when I’m at work an a guest comes up to me or one of my fellow coworkers ready to blow their top off.   Many times it is a simple misunderstanding, but I am usually able to talk them down and explain things to them and have them walk away satisfied.  I’ve had coworkers and managers comment that I am able to calm people down.  I don’t really know how I do it, but I have begun to notice that I have that effect on people.

In some ways, I wish I wasn’t aware of this because I’m afraid that by having knowledge of this, I may lose it.  But that is it, I believe that my superpower would be the ability to calm people down.  Maybe something like Jasper from Twilight.  Or if I knew the X-Men characters better, I’m sure there is one of them there too.  Or if I were an XM radio station I would be Spa (pronounced “Spahhhh…”)

Source

What would your superpower be?

Now onto the fun stuff!

I was given the opportunity to try some soy protein sports nutrition bars.  I received a pack that included a Nogii High Protein Bar, a NOW Energy Bar, an Eat-Smart Bar, and a Nogii Paleo Bar.  I was excited to try the bars because I always want to get more soy into my diet.  I usually don’t succeed, but these bars would make it much easier for me.

Here are some things to consider about soy protein: 

       Soy protein is a high‐quality, plant‐based protein derived from soybeans 
       Soy protein preserves lean body mass, promotes fat loss, and boosts satiety during weight loss 
       A blend of proteins – soy, whey and casein, prolongs muscle building after exercise and increases recovery compared to whey alone 
       Soy protein promotes muscle growth and development 
       Soy protein is equivalent to whey protein for building muscle when consumed as part of a resistance training program 
       Soy protein has the ability to displace fat and sugar calories

I would guess that I don’t always get enough protein in my diet since I still eat too many sweets and lots of carbs on a regular basis.   I have some sort of protein each day, but not with every meal.  Also, trying to eat other protein bars grosses me out.  I’ve tried other brands and they usually taste like flavored particle board to me.  


I tried the Nogii High Protein Bar after a fun strength workout.  It was chocolate coconut flavored.  And it was delicious!  It didn’t have the flavor or consistency of a regular protein bar.  It really seemed more like I was eating a candy bar.  A win for me!


I also tried NOW Energy Bar and it was delicious too.  White Chocolate, Fruit and Nut and a picture of Phil Keoghan.  Only my favorite reality TV host!  It automatically ups the Yum factor on this bar.
 

Finally I tried the Nogii Paleo Bar and the Eat-Smart Bar.  I loved the Paleo Bar.  The flavor was Nuts About Berries, and the texture reminded me of a Lara bar.  When I looked at the ingredients, I saw that the first one was dates.  The Eat-Smart Bar was the only of my bunch to disappointment.  It had the same flavor and texture as your everyday protein bar.  It isn’t for me and of the bunch, it is the only one I wouldn’t get for myself.

If you want to find out more information about the bars, you can find it here:

Please remember that any caloric values, fat content, and any other nutritional information is taken directly from the product packaging.  

Here’s the fun part!  I’ve been given another pack of bars and a “Powered by Soy” Traveler Exercise Kit that I can give away.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The products, information and two gift packs have been provided by DuPont Nutrition and Health.  All opinions are my own.

This entry was posted in soy protein, superpower, This American Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

