Run GKTW Runner Profile: Stacy


1. How long have you been running?

I started running this past summer… about June 2013.
 
2. Why did you start running?

I have always wanted to be a runner but never thought
I could do it.  Then I saw the Disney Princess Half – I was inspired! 
Disney is my favorite place – I have food allergies so there aren’t
many places I’m free to just enjoy being carefree.   They take the time
to really cook foods safely so I don’t have to and can enjoy feeling
normal.

 
3. What was your first race?

My first race was an 8k at the Neptune Festival in
Virginia Beach, Virginia!  It was amazing to see the community and feel
like an athlete.

 
4. Why did you join Run GKTW?

I joined Give Kids the World because I realized that
if I could run a half I could do the Glass Slipper Challenge… I mean,
Why not?   So I started looking at charities.  As I mentioned, I live
ever day with food allergies.   Its nothing like what the kids are
fighting against who visit Give Kids the World.  But my food
intolerances have drastically changed my life and affected my ability to
be “normal”.  Having a place for kids to go to be able to be “normal”
in the midst of unbelievable circumstances?  I resonant with that and I
want that for them. I want to be a part of making that happen.

 
5. What is your favorite running tip/trick?

Hmmm!  Take a hyper dog to pull you up hills. 
Just kidding.   In all seriousness: get out there and do it!  Every
time I’ve gone for a run when I didn’t think I could do it, I found the
will to make it through and surprised myself.

Stacy could really use your help!  Make a donation to her page here

Today is the last day to get entered to win an entry into any 2014 Spartan Race! 

This entry was posted in fundraising, Give Kids the World, Run GKTW. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

