Princess Half Marathon Weekend

I’ve never hidden the fact that Princess Half Marathon weekend is my favorite race weekend in Walt Disney World. This year I registered for the Glass Slipper Challenge which consisted of running the Enchanted 10K on Saturday and the Princess Half Marathon on Sunday. You know, just your normal weekend here at the World.

I also stayed at Bay Lake Tower at the Contemporary Resort. It was nice and easy access to the monorail and an easy ride over to Epcot for the start of the races.  There was also the shuttles over to the expo, which I took advantage of to avoid having to drive over and park myself.

I’ve stayed at Bay Lake Tower before and it is easily one of my favorite places to stay on Disney property. I stayed there the night after my second Princess Half Marathon and again for my birthday the following year. For both of those trips I got a one bedroom and I really enjoyed staying in them too. This year I am trying to spread out vacation club points a little bit so I stayed in a studio with a lake view.

I loved my room. It had a great view from the room and the balcony. Although my favorite view was the one from the elevator lobby on my floor.  I had requested an upper level floor. My room wasn’t ready when I checked in and it was definitely worth the wait.

View of Bay Lake

Bay Lake Tower

Magic Kingdom view from BLT

Nighttime Magic Kingdom view from BLT

One of the perks of being a vacation club owner is that you can rent DVDs from the Community Hall. On Friday night I rented Under the Tuscan Sun and Tinkerbell and the Secret of the Wings. I’ve seen Under the Tuscan Sun before but I decided it would be a nice, light movie for me to relax. The funny thing is, I decided to research some of the actors that are in the movie and one of the Polish carpenters actually grew up two towns over from me in the same town that my Polish grandfather grew up! No, we’re not related.

I also decided that next year is the year that I want to run the Tinkerbell Half Marathon and I hope to dress up like Periwinkle. I loved her outfit. When I told Mel that was my plan, she readily agreed although she wants to run as Rosetta.  I think that is a good choice for her. Now to start saving up for those races and a trip!

I’m working on my 10K and Half review and I will get them done ASAP so you can enjoy the races vicariously through me!

This entry was posted in Bay Lake Tower, Contemporary Resort, Princess Half Marathon weekend, Secret of the Wings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Princess Half Marathon Weekend

  1. Jenn says:

    I can't wait to stay at BLT as an official DVC owner soon. For marathon weekend we stayed by Epcot but BLT is my home. Great views from the room!

    Like

Leave a Reply

