2014 Princess Half Marathon

As usual, I got up at o’dark thirty. I took a quick shower to wake up and had a bagel with peanut butter. It is my go-to breakfast on race day.

Flat Cinderella

I decided to run this race as Cinderella in rags thanks to a skirt that I won last year. And I yet again had help from Mel with the costume. She made the headband and the apron for my costume. Have I told you that she is awesome?

Some of the Perfect Princesses


I got myself dressed and headed over to the monorail. Since Mel wasn’t there yet, I searched for my WISH friends and went over to hang out with them. I even kept my eyes on the time and went over to meet up with some fellow Perfect Princesses so we could get a group picture before the race started.

I finally gave up on waiting for Mel and headed over to the corral. Since it was only me, I was able to move almost to the front of the corral. At some point I got a text from Mel saying that she made it but wasn’t able to make it up to me.

Princess Half Marathon Start Line

The corrals were spaced approximately the same as the corrals at Marathon weekend. Since I was placed in a higher corral, I didn’t feel like I needed to wait too long to start. I decided to stay with the run 1 minute/walk 30 second intervals I was doing the day before. I felt okay with it too.

Around the 5K mark, I thought I heard Mel’s friend calling off her intervals. I decided that as much as I wanted to run with Mel, I didn’t want to run with her friend and I wanted to do my own race so I started running and managed to get ahead of them for the rest of the race. Because I was running my own race, I was able to enjoy the scenery and I even stopped to take a picture on Main Street.

Cinderella’s Castle

I got this one of the castle. My friend Jennifer was texting me the night before the race and asked for a picture from the race. I think it came out pretty good!

The course was crowded after the Magic Kingdom, but I was able to maintain my intervals. Once I go out to the open road on World Drive, I kept moving, but I know that my pace on the run portion of my intervals was getting slower. I was still pretty satisfied with what I was doing though.

My only real complaint about the entire race was that the runner tracking was run by a different website than it had been in the past. That combined with the cell phone networks overloading lead to me not getting any text messages from Rob until I was already in Epcot. He managed to make it to the race with his dad and his dad’s “lady friend” (his title for her, not mine) so that they could see me finish. It was cool to have them there to see me finish.

When I finished the race I felt a lot better than I did in January. My legs were really tired from running two races in two days, but I felt good. I’m not sure if I’ll do the Glass Slipper Challenge again next year, but I will definitely be running the Princess Half Marathon again in 2015!

Thanks again to Jennifer for allowing me to use some of her pictures for this post!

This entry was posted in Glass Slipper Challenge, perfect princess, Princess Half Marathon, Princess Half Marathon race recap, race report, runDisney, running costumes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2014 Princess Half Marathon

  1. Pingback: Whoops! I Did It Again | Who me, run?

Leave a Reply

