Flashback Friday – Road Trip!

I traveled a lot when I was younger, finishing college and for a few years afterwards, I would travel a lot.I would still be traveling all the time if I had the money to do it now. Yesterday I decided to take part in Throwback Thursday on Facebook so I dug out one of my old photo albums and picked out some pictures to share there. Of course, it inspired me to write a post about the trip.

For about 3 weeks before my senior year of college (well, senior semester, but I’ll cover that some other time), I went on a road trip with the guy I was dating at the time. I took the train from Washington, DC to Philadelphia to meet him there and we left a few days later to drive to Michigan to visit a college friend at home. It was a really long drive. Really long. And there were horrible thuderstorms in Ohio. We also determined that the entire state of Ohio was under construction. I had never seen so many miles of highway under construction in a row.

Michigan

We finally made it to our friend’s house at around 2 or 3 in the morning. Her parents had a house right on Lake Huron and she was really close to the Lake Huron National Forest. We stayed with her for 3 nights, spending one night camping at a state park, and one night attempting to camp at the national forest. We got all set up at the forest, but there were just too many wild animal noises for me to want to stay there for the night. I know I started getting freaked out which I believe got my friend freaked out until the two of decided we couldn’t stay there for the night.

We did a lot of hiking and drank some water straight from a spring. And we got to see how ridiculously backwards the town was that she lived in. It felt like the kind of movie where the city folk get dropped into a small town that hasn’t seen outsiders in half a century. No wonder she couldn’t wait to get out of there!

After our time in Michigan, we drove through the Upper Peninsula to Ontario. We got stopped at the border and our car was inspected. We figured it was because we were two 21 year olds driving a sports car over the border. Thankfully the delay was only for about 20 minutes. We spent the night in a town called North Bay before stopping in Ottowa for a few hours, including lunch. Our destination was Montreal for a few nights.

This was actually our second visit to Montreal that year. Just after my 21st birthday, we went skiing in New Hampshire and decided to drive to Montreal for a dinner since we checked into our hotel too late to start skiing on our first day. (It was a crazy plan that started with us driving to Vermont, and then deciding to keep going.)

Montreal Botanical Gardens

In Montreal we visited some of the old Olympic locations. The velodrome from the 1976 Olympics was turned into a biodome. It was really neat to see, but I didn’t take too many pictures inside (this was before most of us had digital cameras. We also visited the botanical gardens. There was a beautiful Japanese area inside.

Chateau Frontenac

Quebec City


I honestly don’t remember how many nights we stayed in Montreal. I think we were only there for 2 or 3 nights before we moved on to Quebec City. It was my first time in Quebec City and I loved it there. We stayed just outside of the city, but if I had the money to go back, I would love to stay in the Chateau Frontenac. On of the most spectacular views was from the city wall overlooking the Saint Laurent River. The river is so wide at that point. This is where is starts truly getting wider to eventually lead out into the Atlantic Ocean.

Mom and Me on Cadillac Mountain
Acadia National Park

From Quebec City, we drove all the way down to Acadia National Park in Maine where we met my mother to go camping for a few days. I love that part of Maine because my father would take me there almost every summer. It is fun to hike, and you can find the best deals on lobster if you are okay with eating at the side of the road on a picnic bench.

We ended our road trip at my timeshare in the Berkshires in Massachusetts. It was nice to relax there for a week after driving all over the country.

I wish I had the money and the time to do something like this again. There is always the chance to do it again, but I don’t know how we could afford it. I would be willing to save up for it too. Maybe to do a Route 66 road trip next time!

This entry was posted in Acadia National Park, Canada, Chateau Frontenac, Flashback Friday, Montreal, Quebec City, Road trip. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

