A New Challenge

“We do these things not because they are easy but because they are hard.” – John F. Kennedy

Last year I was excited to read about a new triathlon. It seemed like it was too good to be true and the organizer of the race even suspected that it would be a one-and-done because the permits were so hard to obtain. You can read Megan‘s Rocketman race recap to see why I was so excited about it.

On April Fool’s Day I got an email from one of the triathlon series that I subscribe to that included a discount code for this year’s Rocketman Florida Triathlon. I thought it was a joke at first. I mean, the email did come on April Fool’s Day, but even in the email, they said it wasn’t a joke. So I went searching for the race website and, lo and behold, the race is happening again. This time it will be in October instead of in the spring.
  

source

I’m excited to announce that I have register for the Rocketman Florida Triathlon!!! I am finally going to be doing my first triathlon. I was previously registered for a triathlon back when I still lived in Philadelphia, but that was the summer that I ended up moving to Florida. I could justify moving to Florida, flying home for a cousin’s wedding 3 days later and then flying back to Philadelphia a week later.

I’ve had grand ideas that I would compete in some of the different triathlons around including the Iron Girl Tri in Clermont, but the timing has never worked out. I usually forgot about it and finally remember when it is too late to register, or even later when I read about the event on a blog. Whoops!

Now I am actually registered for this race! Yay!

I signed up with US Masters Swimming and I’ll be joining a club in Celebration within the next two weeks. I’m hoping my schedule will allow me to attend some of the practices. At this point I’m not sure if I should pay for a monthly membership or pay per visit. I am still a strong swimmer technically speaking but I definitely need to build up my endurance again. And hopefully my speed too. I am really looking forward to getting into a pool again because my time as a collegiate swimmer and water polo player were the most fit years of my life.

My other goal over the next few weeks is to get new tires and tubes for my bike. I may get a new seat too, but the tires and tubes are essential since the ones that are currently on my bike are dry rotted. I guess it’s a good think I’ve been working lots of overtime so I can pay for this!

Is anyone else out there doing the Rocketman Florida Triathlon? Do you have any tips for me for training or competing in my first triathlon?
This entry was posted in cycling, Rocketman Florida Triathlon, swimming, triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A New Challenge

  1. Pingback: Whoops! I Did It Again | Who me, run?

  2. Pingback: 2 Degrees Bar Review | Who me, run?

  3. Pingback: Iron Girl Clermont | Who me, run?

Leave a Reply

