Trying Something New

My swim practices are going well. I went again on Thursday and really had to push myself to keep up with the rest of the team. The coach gave me and the person who was sharing my lane a modified set for one of the sets that we did.

I’m going to start tracking what we’re doing more, but I know I’m only going to get faster and hopefully within a few months I’ll be keeping up with the rest of the team. I think I did about 1700 meters compared to the rest of the team’s 1900-2000 meters.

My right shoulder was a bit tight after the first few hundred meters and I could definitely feel in when we were doing the fast sets. I noticed that my strokes were being cut short and I tried to focus on doing a full stroke. It was definitely easier to have a good stroke when I was doing the easy sets. I was able to really stretch my arms out and focus on how the water felt.

I took the plunge too and signed up for the entire month with the team. My work schedule next week will allow me to attend up to 4 practices and I can’t wait to get back in the water!

breville juicerI also got a juicer! I’m so excited about it. I got the Breville Compact Juice Fountain. It was delivered today and I stopped by Target on my way home from practice and loaded up on fresh fruit and veggies. (There was a Cartwheel deal for bags of apples and oranges.) I made some juice for the two of use as soon as I got home.

Apple orange and carrot juice  Apple-Orange-Carrot Juice (Makes 2-4 servings)

2 carrots

1 stalk celery

4 apples

4 oranges

One thing I remember from the last time I had a juicer was to start with the items that would produce less juice. I put everything in the juicer in the order I have it listed above. It came out so delicious!

 

This entry was posted in juicing, recipes, swimming and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trying Something New

  1. Wow, you might be inspiring me to go try out the town pool and start swimming regularly! Also, that juice sounds fantastic. My sister recently got a juicer and I love all the different combos she’s making 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: What Time of Day Do You Workout? | Who me, run?

Leave a Reply

