What Time of Day Do You Workout?

There are tons of articles out there suggesting what time of day is the best for you to workout. It’s not easy for you to figure out which advise to follow.
Many of them suggest working out in the morning because that is when you have the most motivation and the least distractions. But some suggest working out later in the day because that may be when you have the company for your workout. Many do agree that you should avoid the late night workouts because it will raise your heart rate and your body temperature which makes it difficult for you to sleep.
The one thing that I’ve found that they all agree on is that you should find a time of day that works for you and stick with it. I’ve struggled with picking a time. When I was in school, that time was always predetermined for me. It was always whatever time my practice was scheduled for and I just needed to show up. In the summers while I was in college, I was usually taking a summer class or two, so I would plan workout around noon right after my classes were over and before I had to work.
When I was in law school, I wasn’t able to fit in workouts that frequently. I definitely noticed it in my energy and in my waistline. And after I finished school it didn’t get any easier. I worked lots of hours and the only thing I was able to make time for was my twice weekly Tae Kwon Do classes. That helped a lot with my strength and flexibility, but it didn’t make too much of a difference in my overall fitness the way I would have liked it to. I wasn’t working out enough and I wasn’t eating properly.
It was finally when I started training for endurance races that I was able to get more focused workouts. It was a day-to-day struggle to make it to the gym or get home early enough to go for a run at the school nearby. I would make most of my weekend workouts though.
It seems that since I’ve moved here, I’ve been able to get more workouts in than I have since college. I’ve come to realize that although I’m not an early morning person, I definitely prefer working out in the morning. My best days are when I don’t need to work until about 1 and I can sleep as long as I want and still take my time getting to the gym with plenty of time to still get ready and make it to work on time.
Now that I’ve joined a swim team, I am getting up incredibly early (for me) to make it to the practices, but I am doing something I love and I always feel better after I’ve completed a practice. I also just got new tires on my bike today, so I plan on starting to ride so I can get my training in.
These days, when I work out largely depends on my work schedule. Since I usually spend at least 8 hours per workday on my feet, the thought of going to the gym when I get home makes me want to run and hide. I usually need someone else to push me off the couch and drag me out so that I can get my workout in. Once I’m back on a regular work schedule, I hope that I will be able to get daily workouts in again.
What time of day do you prefer to workout?
This entry was posted in biking, Giveaway, healthy living, Running, swimming, Tae Kwon Do, training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Time of Day Do You Workout?

  1. Sometimes I think it’s all about attitude- I’ve gotten in the habit lately of running early in the morning, and I love how that activity makes me feel, it’s such a nice way to start the day. But on Friday I hadn’t run before work, and I got home at 6:30 and said ‘let’s go to the track!’ I just wanted to get there, and I had more energy then than I do at 6:30 am! 🙂 We’ll see…I do appreciate rising early though, tough as it is at times.

    Like

  2. Megan says:

    I just find it so hard to be motivated after spending the whole day working. It is easier when the activity is swimming though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

