Beach Day

I can’t believe that I’ve been living in Florida for almost 3 years and I’ve only had 3 beach days.

Last week, we finally had a day when I was off, we didn’t have anything that we needed to do in Orlando, and the weather was nice. After my morning swim practice and a failed attempt at getting to ride the new Seven Dwarfs Mine Train, I went home and we got packed up to head to the beach.

Of course, we needed to stop to get a cooler and a beach umbrella. Rather than making two stops, we also picked up some pre-made wraps and other snacks at Target when I bought the cooler and umbrella. Next time I plan on stopping at Wawa since nothing beats a Wawa hoagie!

Cocoa Beach Selfie!

Cocoa Beach Selfie!

We went out to Lori Wilson Park in Cocoa Beach. My only other time at Cocoa Beach I had gone to the Cocoa Beach Pier where I’m pretty sure I got stung by a jellyfish. I really preferred Lori Wilson park and I think it will become our preferred location for the east coast. Granted, we were there on a weekday, but there were a good amount of people there and it didn’t seem too crowded.

Atlantic Ocean

Atlantic Ocean

View of Cape Canaveral

We hung out for several hours and I managed to avoid getting a burn. The water was really nice and there were some good waves for us to play around in. After several hours out there, we packed up and stopped by Ron Jon Surf Shop. It was a pretty awesome store to visit and if I had some extra money I could definitely do some damage there. I ended up picking up something for Rob, but he has to wait for his birthday to get it!

Before leaving the coast, we decided to stop to get dinner. I can’t be near the ocean and not have seafood so I consulted Yelp and decided on Fat Kahuana’s. It had some really good reviews, but when we got there, we saw that it wasn’t on the water. We’ll probably try it at some time in the future, but we weren’t done with the beach so we went to the restaurant right next door called Coconuts on the Beach.

Coconuts on the Beach has a nice outdoor deck that overlooks the beach. There is a section near a stage where they had a live musician playing and a section with a bar. The section with the bar was full of high top table so you could see the ocean from most of the seats. Unfortunately, that part also permitted smoking. Thankfully the people near us didn’t have too many cigarettes while we were there.

Crab Cake Sandwich and Sweet Potato Fries

Crab Cake Sandwich and Sweet Potato Fries

I ordered a crab cake sandwich and sweet potato fries and Rob had the fresh catch of the day which was tuna. We also shared some bacon wrapped scallops as an appetizer and a pitcher of Kona Big Wave which was a good price since it was still happy hour. I enjoyed my meal, but it wasn’t the best crab cake I ever had. It had a bit too much filler and not enough crab meat in it. I think if we were to go back there I would order the seafood tacos that they had on the menu.

We definitely had a great day and I can’t wait to have another beach day soon! Since my normal days off are the days that most of the work is working, we have the advantage of going to the beach while everyone else is sitting behind a desk. Now we just need to have Mother Nature agree with us!

This entry was posted in beach, Cocoa Beach, dining reviews, Florida and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Beach Day

  1. Katie Surly says:

    Looks like a beautiful day on the beach! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. paulinasmiles16 says:

    Haven’t read through the whole post yet because I needed to comment on how you have only been to the beach 3 times when living in the best state for so many amazing beach days. This jersey shore girl does not comprehend. You need to change that asap! The beach is just the most amazing thing in the world.

    Like

    • Megan says:

      I know! We have decided to make an effort to go more often this year. It’s a good thing that my “weekend” is midweek so we can avoid the crowds on the weekends.

      Like

  3. Brittany says:

    Beach days are awesome. I need to have one of those this summer!

    Like

  4. Miss Angie says:

    Oh I miss the beach, that looks lovely!

    Like

  5. cassidl says:

    I love Cocoa Beach but when we were in Florida last May and went they lovebugs were crazyyyy so we were afraid to try it again this year. Loks great, now I wish we had ventured in that direction.

    Like

  6. Astrid says:

    I’m glad you had a great day at the beach. Orlando isn’t near the ocean is it? I mean, you could live in Florida, but still be hours from the beach, right? I love tuna. Don’t care for crab cakes though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

