Throwback Thursday – Ireland 1999

I can’t believe it’s been almost 15 years since the first time I visited Ireland. I went for a week-long vacation there in the summer of 1999. I fell completely in love with the country.

I flew out of Philadelphia to London. We planned a 12 hour layover in London so I was excited to see some of the city. We saw Buckingham Palace, Leicester Square, and the Tower Bridge. We then had a late night flight over to Shannon and we stayed near the airport.

Cliffs of Moher

Cliffs of Moher

Bunratty Castle

Bunratty Castle

After doing so much research, it was amazing to head to the Cliffs of Moher the next day and see them in person. We saw them and that evening we went to Bunratty Castle for their dinner show.

Inishmor

Inishmor

Seven Churches

Seven Churches

Dun Aengus

Dun Aengus

Cliffs on Inishmor

Cliffs on Inishmor

We also spent a night out on the Aran Isles. We visited Inisheer and Inishmor, where we spent the night. We hiked over to see some ruins at night called the Seven Churches. The picture I got there was really cool. If I had know then about orbs and ghost hunting, I probably would have taken a lot more pictures. The one I got of it definitely looks that there were some orbs in it.

The Dolmens

The Dolmens

Dingle Peninsula

Dingle Peninsula

Dingle

Dingle

We also visited the Dolmens, which were amazing and eerie at the same time. There was a storm coming but it was still sunny where we were so I got some really cool pictures. We made a trip out to the Dingle Peninsula. I would love to have a few extra days to just spend exploring that area since the geography was some amazing and unique.

Killarney National Park

Killarney National Park

Rock of Cashel

Rock of Cashel

One of my absolute favorite parts of the island was driving through the Killarney National Park. I know I will go back there are do a hiking and camping trip. Our final stop was visiting the Rock of Cashel. It was so historic and full of some of the classic Irish crosses.

This was only my first trip and due to a misunderstanding with the car rental company, we decided to stay on the west coast of Ireland rather than risk going all over the place. I was able to visit Ireland again a few years later with my best friend, Alyssa. And now we have a five-year plan to take a trip there with our boyfriends. Though we’ve both casually mentioned it to them, I’m not sure they realize it is something that we want to make happen!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

