Weekend Happenings

I had a busy weekend when it comes to working out. Amazingly, I was still walking normally today. I had to get my sleep in at odd times though in order to be rested enough to get to work too.

Lucky's Lake Swim http://whomerun.com

Lucky’s Lake Swim

Mel and I met early on Saturday morning to go over to Lucky’s Lake Swim. It was nice to have her there with me for my first venture into open water swimming. She’s done a few triathlons so she is much more comfortable being in the lakes than I am. It was really fun to just hop in the water and swim. but it was such a big change for me to not have a wall to stop and take a rest at.

Lucky has two requirements for first time swimmers. For your first three crossings, you need to have some kind of floatation device. He’s not picky. He has floats with straps that you can borrow, but if you have a pull buoy, wet suit or even a noodle you can swim. For your first five crossings, you are given a bright green swim cap. Of course, you also have to sign a release which, among other things, states that you are able to swim 1000 meters.

Lucky's Lake Swim http://whomerun.comOnce Lucky welcomed everyone, we all made our way into the water. Thankfully, the shore was sandy, not slimy and muddy like the lakes I grew up with in Connecticut. To get out into the deeper water quicker, I did some Tarzan swimming. This was when wearing the belt with the float was first noticeable to me. And the fact that I was swimming in fresh water instead of the salt water pool that I’ve become used to.

Lucky's Lake Swim http://whomerun.com

We swam to the other side and back!

Mel prefers to do a lifeguard style breaststroke and she is pretty fast with it, but she was having problems with her goggles. When I got to the other side of the lake, I walked up onto the beach and didn’t see her. I thought maybe she was closer to me than I thought and that she had made the turn to head back without me seeing her so I swam the second have back. When I got to the other side, Mel wasn’t there yet.

Lucky's Lake Swim http://whomerun.com

I survived Lucky’s Lake Swim

I got out, rinsed off, and ran to my car to get my phone so I could get some pictures. After I got some pictures, Mel finished her crossing. We got our stuff together and went to sign the wall and get our first crossing “goody bag”. We plan on trying to do this every other week and hopefully in a about a month, her husband will be able to join us.

On Sunday morning, I met Mel out in Polk City for the first of our training rides. Neither of us is looking forward to riding 34+ miles for the Rocketman Tri (but the views will be soooo worth it!). We’re trying to get in our distance training so that we know we can be in the saddle for as long as we need to be. We both also hope to get faster so that we don’t need to be out on our bikes for 3 hours. (On that note, I really need to find some spinning classes so that I can work on my RPMs)

We did a 16 mile out-and-back ride on the Van Fleet Trail. It was nice and flat and shaded too. It was pretty warm and humid out but since we started so early, we didn’t have too much sun to heat us up. Our main goal was to keep moving and pedaling. We just wanted to avoid coasting. We did pretty good with that. We took a short break at the halfway point to stretch and hydrate.

In true Florida style, we could hear a gator grunting. Mel said it was a bull gator. We didn’t stay around too long to find out if he was really close. When I first hopped back on the bike, I felt great and it was great to see the miles counting down before we got back to our cars. Sitting on the saddle really got to me in the second half of the ride though. The last 4 miles were a real challenge, but I was incredibly thankful to see the end of the trail.

Once I got home I took a shower and a nice long nap to celebrate the ride. My knee was a little bit sore for the rest of the day since I had to go to work and spend 8 hours on my feet, but I felt a lot better today.

Next weekend I will probably be doing my ride with Mel’s husband since he is also doing the Rocketman Tri with us. It’s a drop back week so I only plan on doing 10 miles. I look forward to getting back out there!

Can anyone give me any suggestions to improve my cadence?

This entry was posted in swimming, training, training for a triathlon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Weekend Happenings

  1. Pingback: 10 Things on Tuesday Volume 5 | Who me, run?

  2. Miss Angie says:

    You did it! Good job!

    Like

  3. Sarah says:

    that sounds so intense! i’m a runner, but not a swimmer. haha

    Like

    • Megan says:

      I love being in the water! My coach in college always wished that I had started with her when I was a kid because I would have been even better than I already was.

      Like

  4. gator grunting? I would have panicked!!

    Like

    • Megan says:

      Yeah… We didn’t stay in the area too long to find out what was up. I figured that Mel grew up in the area so if she wasn’t freaking out then I could remain calm.

      Like

  5. Dina Farmer says:

    I would have freaked out!

    I won’t say I can’t swim I just won’t swim it’s too much for me. I get so tired not even 200 yards in. You are amazing!

    Like

  6. That sounds like so much fun! I would definitely dig having a flotation device since I am an awful swimmer lol Nice work!

    Like

  7. April Tuell says:

    I love your commitment to this, great job. 🙂

    Like

  8. Chloe Logan says:

    That sounds like a lovely bike ride! The trail looks beautiful from the link.

    Chloe | Wanderlust in the Midwest

    Like

Leave a Reply

